Bowls

image

Such an odd post this is going to be. Just a warning straight out of the starting block.

Bowls — I adore them. They do such hard work in my kitchen. This time of year I’m eating oatmeal in the morning, Buddha Bowls for lunch, and soup for dinner.

My favorite dishes are my Fiesta Ware. They are so colorful and cheerful looking on a shelf. However, they are really heavy. Also, they get really hot when you’re holding one full of warm food.

I love to sit on the porch with Jasper (usually in the glider) and eat my morning meal. This means I’m normally holding my bowl, sometimes wrapped in a napkin for easy wiping and keeping the heat from getting to my hands. Unfortunately, the combination of heat, holding, and damage to my thumb means I often drop bowls. Fiesta Ware does not bounce very well. Just a few weeks ago I broke 3 bowls in the span of 6 days. Not good and not sustainable either.

The answer for most people is a plastic bowl. But, I don’t do plastic. I say no to plastic bags, plastic spoons/forks/knives, plastic cups . . . So I faced the challenge of finding a bowl that I liked, that wasn’t plastic, that could be filled with hot food and not scorch my hands, and could, if necessary, take a tumble and still remain whole.

First up: bamboo fiber bowls from Target. I love the idea of these. They look like plastic, feel like plastic, but aren’t plastic. They are colorful. They are a great size. However, they really transfer the heat to your hands. Also, while they handle a fall from your lap to the porch, they do not handle falling from the counter. Nor do they handle a full fledged thumb spazz — as Hannah so gleefully tested and proved. I still have one and I’ll use it for things like popcorn. Lastly, I’m not really sure how you would recycle these. I’m pretty sure they can’t go in the compost bin, and they definitely can’t go to the local recycling place, and that means any fragments just become garbage. Not cool.

Second up: Acacia wood bowl from Pacific Merchants. This bowl I adore. It is a beautiful wooden bowl. The size is perfect for oatmeal, Buddha bowls and soup. It can handle the heat, but due to the thickness doesn’t transfer it so quickly. I can normally eat the whole bowl of oatmeal before I notice the bowl is warm. Thankfully I haven’t dropped it yet, but from reading reviews I think it will be fine. And if one breaks, it is easy to recycle — straight into the compost bin.

I’ve been using it for a week and taking care of it is quite simple. I rinse it out immediately, then wash with warm soapy water, dry thoroughly, and once a week I’ll coat it with a bit of sesame oil. It is also great because it gets me in the habit of washing my dishes immediately after eating. In fact, I generally make the dish water as I head to the porch or table so it is ready as soon as I finish.

Leave a Reply

