Season of Creation, D12

image

 

This picture shows a few of my shopping bags. I carry them all in the cooler bag in the back during the warm months. During the cool months I just shove them all down inside of the smaller canvas bags. After each shopping trip I wash them so they are ready to go the next time I head out the door.

There are two really big canvas bags (yellow and green), three regular canvas bags (all that normal canvas color), and two bags that fold up into very small pouches. I keep one of these in my purse at all times. That way if I make an unexpected stop I have a bag with me.

The second small bag gets filled with things I need to do on errand day: mail, library books to return, purchases to return, my water bottle, a snack if I think far ahead enough, and whatever else needs to be done. The bag empties during my running and by the time I get to the grocery, always my last stop, it’s empty and ready as a spare grocery bag if needed.

I’ve been using the same bags long enough that I can gauge my normal grocery trip and fill all the bags without running over. The two big bags hold a week’s worth of produce, the smaller canvas bags hold staples, the cooler bag holds frozen veggies, almond milk and eggs, and one small foldable bag holds everything from the other stores.

My eco-friendly cleaners come from Grove.co and are delivered once a month. I like this because I’d have to drive twice as far to get them as I normally do on errand day. Each month I get 1 Sal’s Suds (Our laundry soap), 1 Mrs Meyer’s dish soap, and 1 Dr. Bronner’s peppermint soap. Every other month the shipment includes walnut scrubbers, cellulose sponges, bamboo toothbrushes, an extra Sal’s Suds, and an extra dish soap. Once a year I get Argan oil, a salt stone, a new canvas bag, and Dr Bronner’s liquid peppermint scented soap.

Leave a Reply

