Season of Creation

September 1 to October 4 :: The Season of Creation

Let us put our minds together and see what life we can make for our children — Sitting Bull, Sioux Chief

I’ve written so much on here about our endeavor to reduce our environmental impact.  Often I wonder if my individual efforts make any difference at all.  My conclusion is:  it doesn’t matter.  I cannot step aside from my responsibility to make this life and planet as whole as possible for those who will come after me.  So I continue on in my efforts to leave as small an environmental impact as possible.

Others are in a position to call the big corporations and nations into action and accountability.   I am proud to be part of a church that takes this responsibility seriously.  Churches of all types are gathering together for a Season of Creation from September 1 to October 4.

I will be praying, but I will also be posting pictures throughout the Season of things that help me, encourage me, and inspire me in this endeavor.

September 1, 2016

image

My primary Bible:  The Green Bible.  I love this Bible because every day when I pick it up it is a quiet reminder to do my part.  The front includes some essays from a variety of writers and the back has a study section.  Passages that emphasize Creation are in green ink.

Purchased in 2009, Cotton cover with recycled pages and soy ink.

2 thoughts on “Season of Creation

  1. Don Hill September 1, 2016 at 3:39 pm Reply

    I am reminded of a story of a child walking the shore of the ocean at low tide. Each time he finds a starfish stranded on the shore he threw it back into the ocean. An adult walking the other way saw hi. And said “with all the miles of beach throwing a few back doesn’t matter.” Withnthenthemchild picked up another. There it back and said “It mattered to that one.” We need to do what we can do and hope that we inspire others to also do what they can do.

  2. Kim September 3, 2016 at 7:18 am Reply

    In love that story. Thank you for the reminder and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

