Inspiration

**Moved from my other blog in an attempt to get all my stuff in one place, again. **

Inspiration — the process of being mentally stimulated to do something, especially something creative.

I was having one of those days, you know, the days when you realize that something is holding you back. You can’t quite put your finger on it, but it is there gnawing at your mind. Begging you to take an honest look and identify what is causing this bubbling, brewing fit of melancholy.

Before I had time to properly process all this I had to leave the house. I put my favorite playlist on my phone and bopped on down the road. The pickup truck was purring (which is unusual, normally it is clanking), the sun was shining, and I was singing along with Five for Fighting.

The song World is probably one of my all time favorites. It moves me. Tears, laughter, joy, desire . . . all these emotions from one song. So as I was singing along, and according to lyrics below getting a word wrong, I put my finger on my problem. I knew what I needed to leave behind. I knew where I wanted to go.

My truest, simplest, most authentic self was asking for a new platform from which to speak.

So, here I am at a new blog, named for a line (that I’ve been singing wrong) in a song that speaks to me.

What kind of world do I want? Let’s find out. I’m starting at the start. I’m building my own masterpiece.

World — with the correct lyrics! 🙂 by Five for Fighting

Got a package full of Wishes
A Time machine, a Magic Wand
A Globe made out of Gold

No Instructions or Commandments
Laws of Gravity or
Indecisions to uphold

Printed on the box I see
A.C.M.E.’s Build-a-World-to-be
Take a chance – Grab a piece
Help me to believe it

What kind of world do you want?
Think Anything
Let’s start at the start
Build a masterpiece
Be careful what you wish for
History starts now…

Should there be people or peoples
Money, Funny pedestals for Fools who never pay
Raise your Army – Choose your Steeple
Don’t be shy, the satellites can look the other way

Lose the Earthquakes – Keep the Faults
Fill the oceans without the salt
Let every Man own his own Hand
<Can you dig it, baby?>

What kind of world do you want
Think Anything
Let’s start at the start
Build a masterpiece
Be careful what you wish for
History starts now…

Sunlight’s on the Bridge
Sunlight’s on the Way
Tomorrow’s Calling

There’s more to this than Love

What Kind of world do you want
What Kind of world do you want

What Kind of world do you want
Think Anything
Let’s start at the start
Build a masterpiece

History Starts Now

Be careful what you wish for
Start Now

Leave a Reply

