no competition

“It is, after all, just yoga.”  Jason Crandall on a YogaJournal podcast.

My favorite way to do yoga is alone and with an audio teacher.  I can pay more attention to what and how I am doing something when I listen.

Not being a competitive person comes in handy with yoga.  I don’t really care how good you are at a particular pose.  I am happy for you if you do it well, but it doesn’t cause me any envy.  The only person I compete with is myself.  I mentioned this before in a yoga post, but I am learning how hard I can be on myself.

Today’s podcast was a toning yoga practice.  But soft, gentle, and in the end he reminded us that:

“This is a yoga practice. And built into the yoga practice is a sense of ease and letting go, surrender and acceptance. . . . You’ve done what you need to do.”

Just one more reminder of why I need yoga . . .

4 thoughts on “no competition

  1. hmhedges April 15, 2014 at 6:19 pm Reply

    I get so inspired watching you do yoga. And then I fall on my keister when I try.

  2. Kim April 15, 2014 at 6:31 pm Reply

    I love doing yoga with you. It is always fun!

  3. hmhedges April 15, 2014 at 6:36 pm Reply

    “Fun” is not the word I would use. More like “humiliating” and “bathroom break inducing for the people around me.”

  4. Kim April 16, 2014 at 6:05 am Reply

    Yes, that can be true, but there is also a sheer joy and happiness that comes into the room.

Leave a Reply

